: | The French Pastry School


French Culinary Academy & Master Chefs of France in Philadelphia
The French Pastry School |
June 16, 2010
Chefs of The French Pastry School Participate in a Special Event for L’Académie Culinaire de France

AAA Five Diamond restaurant, hosted members, inductees, and honored guests of L’Académie Culinaire de France (French Culinary Academy) and Maîtres-Cuisiniers de France (Master Chefs of France) on June 6th to honor the retiring President of the French Culinary Academy, Jean Jacques Dietrich, and to bestow annual awards. Chef and owner of Le Bec-Fin, Georges Perrier hosted the special event and welcomed guests including founders and deans of The French Pastry School, Jacquy Pfeiffer and Sébastien Canonne, M.O.F., Chef Instructor En-Ming Hsu, World Pastry Champion, and newest Chef Instructor Pierre Zimmermann, World Baking Champion.

Also in attendance was the French Ambassador to the US, Pierre Vimont; former French Senator, André Maman; French President of the Académie Culinaire de France, Gérard Dupont; French President of the Maîtres-Cuisiniers de France, Michel Blanchet; President of US Maîtres-Cuisiniers de France, Jean-Louis Dumonet; as well as Pennsylvania Governor Edward Rendell; and Mayor of Philadelphia Michael Nutter. These honored guests were welcomed by over one hundred members in attendance who formed a haie d’honneur, or guard of honor, saluting them with their copper pots in hand. Chefs Pfeiffer, Canonne, and Hsu created a chocolate sculpture, complete with a chocolate copper pot as a gift to Jean Jacques Dietrich.

The evening began with a reception where members had the opportunity to speak with Jean Jacques Dietrich and the other honored guests such as Governor Rendell, Mayor Nutter, and Ambassador Pierre Vimont who then addressed the crowd congratulating all for their work in preserving and advancing the French culinary arts around the world. The new US President of the Académie, Jean-Louis Gerin, owner of Restaurant Jean-Louis in Greenwich, Connecticut was welcomed to his new position.

Each year, the Académie inducts new members, names an Academician of the year and a Dame de l’Année (Woman of the Year). The first Dame to receive the honor was Julia Child in 1998, and Chef En-Ming Hsu won the award in 2009. Chefs Jacquy and Sébastien have also been inducted into the Académie, and in 2009, Chef Sébastien was named Chevalier de l’Ordre Mondial, or Knight of the Worldwide Order. On the 6th of June, the Académie recognized new inductees and notable members, welcomed delegates from across the US, France, Mexico, and Canada, while also commemorating and bidding farewell to the former US president of the Académie, Jean Jacques Dietrich who served for 32 years.

“Jean Jacques Dietrich has been an exemplary leader of the Académie Culinaire de France and ambassador for French culinary arts for as long as I have been in this great industry,” said Chef Sébastien Canonne, M.O.F. “I am inspired by Mr. Dietrich to continue to carry on these great traditions by bringing them to my own students and helping them to become the ambassadors of the future.”

L’Académie Culinaire de France was created in 1883 by Joseph Favre and is the oldest association of culinary and pastry chefs in the world. Today the Academy has 900 members and represents 27 nations. The organization strives to define and uphold the tenants of culinary and pastry gastronomy, recruiting members of the highest order of professional culinary hierarchies to work toward perfecting the French Culinary Arts and establish relationships between the French and the rest of the gastronomic world. Maîtres-Cuisiniers de France was created more than 60 years ago and includes more than 200 chefs from France, Europe, the Americas, the Middle East, and Africa. The organization seeks to preserve and spread the French culinary arts, encourage training in cuisine, and assist professional development.

For more information on the Académie Culinaire de France, visit www.academieculinairedefrance.com. For information on the Maîtres-Cuisiniers de France, visit www.mcf-usa.com. And for information on The French Pastry School, visit www.frenchpastryschool.com.

About The French Pastry School
The French Pastry School is a premier international institution of pastry arts education. Superb instruction, superior equipment, and top quality ingredients enable the co-founders and Academic Deans, Chefs Jacquy Pfeiffer, and Sébastien Canonne, M.O.F., to uphold an exceptional educational facility for pastry and baking. The French Pastry School’s team of award-winning instructors has grown to a faculty of many renowned chefs, including Master Baker Jonathan Dendauw, Pastry World Champion Dimitri Fayard, Della Gossett, Pastry World Champion En-Ming Hsu, Joshua Johnson, Master Cake Artist Nicholas Lodge, Laura Ragano, Kristen Ryan, Master Cake Artist Mark Seaman, and World Baking Champion Pierre Zimmermann.

The French Pastry School offers the rare opportunity for students to learn the art of pastry in an intimate setting, being personally mentored by masters in their field. Students’ skills are finely honed through hands-on practice and repeated exposure to the best pastry techniques, tools, and ingredients. Our programs are ideal for anyone from the career changer to the professional to the novice. For more information on The French Pastry School, please visit www.frenchpastryschool.com.


Download full press release

For more information on The French Pastry School please visit www.frenchpastryschool.com or contact
Anne Kauffmann
The French Pastry School
312.726.2419 ext.207